Le Pirate Granola, A Remix

1

Hi everyone! Just a quick post before I hop on the bus to le school…

I’ve been meaning to make the amazing, Ricotta-lovin’, sassy sister from another mother, part-time pirate, full-time tummy-rumbling-inducer, Sam of the Wicked Awesome Le Pirate blog’s A Granola For Sunny Days. Every time a munchmunchmunch craving hit, or when tumblr updated with posts of breakfast pics, or when I would walk pass the ginormous container of rolled oats in my kitchen, I thought of That Granola. But there was a pressing issue at hand: raw vegetables, fruits, meat and other produce severely lacking in shelf life had to be attended to! So, alas, the dried fruit, dried nuts, and other dry ingredients of the long shelf life variety was put on the back burner for a truly Sunny (read: Happy and Long Awaited) Day. And yesterday happened to be that day! Well, FIVE THIRTY PM happened to be that time. When the sun was just about to say goodbye. And was set long after the granola was out of the oven! So I waited until today to take the show stunner pictures of what is one of THE most amazing granola I’ve ever had like, um, EVER. Better than, might I say, Burgoo?! (SCANDAL!) Yes, Sam deserves every and all praise I may bestow upon her for this wonderful, healthy, and week-long (because there’s no way this will survive more than 7 days, duh ;)) nommy pan of goodness. Do check out her post for scrumptious pics and her recipe! Mine is just slightly altered, to what I had on hand in my pantry. :)

P.S. I’m sorry Sam. Predictably, my laziness kicked in and I decided not to stir together the liquid ingredients in a sauce pot. Forgive? #handsyouagiantwhitechocolatemacadamianutcookiewithlotsofbrownedbutterinit :D

P.P.S. 5 Second Foodrotica Videos. It’s a thing now. Believe it.

Le Pirate Granola, A Remix

Yield: roughly 4.5-5 cups

“INGREDIENTS”

160 grams rolled oats
35 grams pistachio nuts
35 grams chopped hazelnuts
20 grams shaved almonds
20 grams sunflower seeds
3 tablespoons black chia seeds
3 tablespoons white quinoa
just a little over 1/4 cup fresh orange and carrot juice
(if you don’t want to bother with juicing or don’t have the means to juice a carrot and orange, just replace with freshly squeezed juice and zest of 1 orange)
30 grams light brown sugar
50 grams raw honey, preferably local
1.5 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1 heaping tablespoon coconut oil
1.5 teaspoons allspice, or cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ginger
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
pinch of flaky sea salt
handful dried cranberries
handful dried pineapple
handful dried bing cherries, chopped

“INSTRUCTIONS”

1. Preheat the oven to 355 degrees F/180 degrees C.

2. Combine  all the ingredients except the dried fruit together in a mixing bowl. Stir well to combine and coat; make sure to use those extra arm muscles!! Spread evenly across a parchment-lined baking sheet.

3. Bake for around forty minutes altogether, stirring the granola every 7-10 minutes. When everything is golden and smelling lovely (quote unquote le pirate, who is tres awesome) remove from the oven and allow to cool on the baking tray. “This lets it crisp up nicely,” says Sam. Then stir in the triple dried fruit mixture. Keep in a jar in the cupboard for breakfast time, or just eat it all in one go if you’re Insane Jane like me. Just kidding!

Ho ho ho, Le Pirate’s Life Fer Me!

10

2

3

4

5

6

7

11

The sweetness of the dried pineapples is offset by the tartness of the dried cherries, and the flavourful hazelnuts is an explosion in your mouth as you bite into the crunchy granola, with a hint of cinnamon and honey as a teasing after taste. So, so good. Please go make it.

9

12

13

8

You gotta play it in HD okay? It’s the tool logo to your right. And yeah, my cruddy SD card only films 5 second videos so for now that’ll be our daily dose of foodrotica until I can replace it with a Grade 10 version……..#sweatdrop

8 thoughts on “Le Pirate Granola, A Remix

  1. Oh my goodness it looks so much more delicious than mine! I’m jealous! Great work with the hazelnut addition. Haha I am the same as you I just nibble it from the cupboard constantly. Your photos make it look so darn tasty! Wheeee! xxx

    • Eahahaha you are ridickuulous! I love your pics it made me know how my granola should turn out. Plus that orange squeezing shot? #feintaswoon hand model, anyone? Yah its so good cant stop reaching into the jar. Keep the recipes coming please.

    • Thank ya, Laura! Oh myyy, aren’t you worried you’ll get food cravings ever time you walk pass your kitchen?? I know for sure that would happen to me..then again…hanging around wordpress doesn’t help much either.
      <3 as always, you are the bee's knee's at giving me compliments :D

    • Uh oh. Guess I better postpone those burgers I have scheduled on wp… ;) ;)

      I think I’d like to pick something from your blog for my next cooking with foodies project. Can Mrs. P pick her top 3 fave recipes on your blog for me to try? I know, I know. That’s like pulling teeth. Everything on your blog is a fave ;) But pretty please? It’s so hard for me to decide *sweats profusely*

Give Us Some Sass! ;)

