The Slacker’s Amazing (30 minute) Pizza Dough (with various “F-Yeah!” toppings)

1

No doubt, a proper student would be reviewing her production management lecture notes right now. Contacting her Marketing Research presentation group members to set a meeting place and time. Preparing for bed to wake up for a 6AM start the next day. My, oh my. What a diligent person is she. But not I. No, no, no. Instead, I’ve decided to dedicate the last hour to my fellow readers and bloggers. Because there’s no limit to my love for you. And my love in sharing food with others. For you see, this is the 6th time I’ve made this crust in the last 1.5 months. I’ve tried several pizza dough recipes in the past—18 hours of waiting but no knead magical pizza dough. Food Network pizza doughs. All Recipe pizza doughs. It has been an endless journey.

But this one? This one is Gold. For when you don’t feel like waiting 3 hours for it to properly rise and proof. When you don’t want to knead for 20 minutes. When you don’t own a powerful stand mixer. When you have a sudden hankering for pizza at 2AM in the morning while writing a research paper. Etc. It’s brilliant. It’s magical. And if you own a pizza stone, it would probably be even better. The crust is crackly and chewy, while the interior is soft and almost melts into your mouth, in harmony with the cheese and other toppings. Be sure to properly heat the oven before you bake the dough, it should be preheated for at least 30 minutes and up to an hour. Below are snapshots of at least 3 different times this pizza dough was used. I don’t think I’ve ever done that for this blog before, so I suppose that tells you what I feel about this recipe Loud and Clear. Enjoy everybody! :]

The Slacker’s Amazing (30 minute) Pizza Dough (with various “F-Yeah!” toppings)

Yield: 1 medium pizza (4 proper serving slices)

“INGREDIENTS”

160 grams all-purpose flour
1 (generous) teaspoon active dry yeast
1.5 teaspoons raw honey
1.5 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil
80-110 ml lukewarm water

more oil, for brushing
cornmeal, for dusting

“INSTRUCTIONS”

1. Preheat the oven to 480 degrees F/250 degrees C. Fill a pot large enough to hold a medium-sized mixing bowl with 1-2 inches of water and heat until simmering. Turn off the fire.

2. In the meantime, mix together the flour, yeast, honey and olive oil. Now, gradually drizzle in 80 ml of water, stirring to combine with a fork or wooden spoon. Then add a teaspoon of water at a time until no visible dry flour is left; however, the dough should not become sticky after you’ve kneaded it for 1-2 minutes. Once it is smooth, grease the bowl and dough with more olive oil before covering loosely with a shower cap or plastic wrap (this is where stealing taking home shower caps from hotels comes in handy!) Place the bowl on top of the pot where you previously simmered some water and rest for 25 minutes.

3. Prepare your toppings while you wait for it to rise. Look below for some combinations.

4. Dust the table top with a generous amount of cornmeal and dump the dough right on top of it. Shape it into an even disc. The next part is important guys! Do not roll the dough out using a rolling pin. Simply use your knuckles to press down on the dough, starting from the middle and going outwards. Stop just before the edge so that a crust will start to form. Continue stretching the dough with your knuckles until it reaches your desired size. Transfer the dough to your pizza stone or parchment-lined baking sheet and spread on your toppings. Brush some olive oil on the crust of the pizza. Bake for 13-15 minutes or until the crust is golden brown, the toppings are heated through, and the cheese is bubbly and delicious looking. Yuuuum! Now slice and take a biiiiiig bite! Don’t burn your tongue. Burning your tongue is a must. Just kidding! ;)

CHIVE AND GARLIC DOUGH
add to the flour mixture, before adding the water: 3 tablespoons chopped chives and 2 finely minced garlic cloves

THYME AND CHILI DOUGH
add to the flour mixture, before adding the water: 2 sprigs of finely chopped thyme and 1/4 teaspoon crushed red chili pepper flakes

“TOPPINGS”

Pepperoni, Chipotle, and Triple Cheese: 1/4 cup garlic tomato sauce mixed with 2-4 teaspoons chipotle in adobo sauce, 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese,  1/2 cup shredded provolone cheese, 2 tablespoons grated parmigiano reggiano or romano cheese, handful pepperoni slices, chiffonaded green lettuce for garnishing, (optional: squeeze of lime, loomi, or lemon after it has been baked)

Roasted Pumpkin, Egg, and Honey Lemon Garlic Aioli: honey lemon garlic aioli (1 large egg yolk, 1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice, 1/2 teaspoon lemon zest, 2 large garlic cloves, 2 teaspoons raw honey, 1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt ALL PULSED UNTIL FOAMY, THEN DRIZZLE IN: scant 3/4 cup olive oil), slices of softened pumpkin (microwave the slices on high for 1-2 minutes until soft), 1/2 cup shredded fontina cheese, 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese, 3 tablespoons crumbled goat cheese, chopped chives or spring onion, freshly cracked black pepper, 1-2 large eggs

Note: feel free to double the recipe! #more toppings to come, after further testing in the lab kitchen

1b

2a 2b

3 3b

4a 4b

plain dough vs. chive and garlic dough

5a

5b

6

7

8 9

use them knuckles! karate punch!

10a 10b

11a 11b

12

13

14a 14b

15

16

17a 17b

18a 18b

19

20

21

22

23

Mamma mia…now time for some potato couching! *rubs ma belly*

33 thoughts on “The Slacker’s Amazing (30 minute) Pizza Dough (with various “F-Yeah!” toppings)

  1. Making me hungry and I had breakfast not that long ago. I do like having the flavors in the crust and I am especially curious on your thoughts/opinion of the flavors for the Roasted Pumpkin, Egg, and Honey Lemon Garlic Aioli (that sounds really good, not even on a pizza just in general).

    • Hanging around wordpress tends to do that to us, I’ve noticed! Hehehe! :D Oh yes, adding flavours to the crust was taught to me by Ina Garten. Gotta love Barefoot Contessa.

      Hmmmmm, I really loved it! Before living in Japan, I never thought to put pumpkin on almost anything…but it is widely available here, and used in many of their dishes! I think I’ll have to recreate a few of the pizza flavours popular in Japan and post them up! They have a few interesting ones. The pumpkin and honey is sweet, but it works very well with the tartness of the lemon (although it is very mild..stronger if you add a bit of the zest into the aioli!) and savoury spiciness of the garlic. The tartness and earthiness of the goat cheese helps keep the sweetness in check, so I think everything works quite well! Of course, feel free to sub it out if it’s not your thing. I sometimes leave it out (as you can see above) when I’m making it for the roommate. Not a fan. Sadface :(

      What are some of your favourite toppings? :D

  2. Oh, oh, oooooh. I’ve been meaning to do this broccoli, caramelised onion, olive and mozzarella pizza for the blog. I might substitute your base in for the recipe’s one. If only I didn’t have a test coming up next week, although that might not stop me anyway. A slacker’s pizza base wouldn’t be complete without some study procrastination I suppose.

    • Hi! Replying from the uni’s computer atm….everyone’s being so much more productive than me! All I see are word documents and excel sheets open. Lame. Why no youtubing procrastinators? Online comic readers? Rugby match review watchers? I’m surrounded by Sheldon Coopers. (Oh wait, but that’s insulting him. Do I get take backs?) Sigh.

      YUUUUUUUUUM! Esp caramelised onion and olives. What kind of olives? Sadly I cannot partake in the consumption of broccoli or other cruciferous vegetables, due to my illness (Graves’ disease). I miss my Gobi Pakoras. Sadfaces x a mil :( :( :(

      Test time eh? Hope you have buckets of ice cream stored up for post-exam de-stressing. :)

      How goes the chicken soup?

      P.S. Agreed. Slackers’ gotta slack. First rule of the Slackers Club.

      • Graves disease? I got a cyst in my thyroid a couple of years ago that an wasn’t much fun, I can’t imagine having everything else to go along with it. My mother has an auto immune disease, pretty serious and quite the condition to manage. How long ago were you diagnosed.

        Chicken soup went really well. Post to come tomorrow.

      • When I was 17.5 (woah woah woah almost wrote 37.5, silly 20 year old college keyboards!), so a little over 5 years ago. I’ve since had the iodine surgery and stuff. Now I just take synthroid pills everyday and it won’t act up too much…..errr, of course if I REMEMBER to actually take them. I just wish I had a better grip on the emotional side effects the disease causes—it can be a bit of a roller coaster ride for myself and the people around me.

        Your mom does? Is she alright? And my mom suffers from epilepsy so I don’t have it as bad as her. I know there’s so much worst out there that I’ve come to terms with it. :)

      • Keep your mind on your meds sounds so hard, especially if your condition can mess with your emotions, let alone being busy with life. I find it hard enough to remember to shave, and I at least get a glimpse of myself in the mirror in the morning.

        It’s sort of one day at a time with Mama P. For a long time it was like watching one long episode of House, where they’d think it was one thing, throw some meds at it, think it was ok, then something else would go wrong. She’s on better meds now but pretty much on Prednisone all the time. We’re just lucky someone cottoned on before too late or she’d be gone by now and we wouldn’t have realised what was happening. The hardest thing is getting her to remember to stop running around after others instead of taking care of herself. Habits of a life time, but I’m lucky I get to see her 5 days a week.

  3. Yummmmm I love pizza, and the crust is my favorite part! And then the tomato sauce. And then the toppings. And finally the cheese. I must be the strangest person ever if cheese is last on my list of things to like about pizza!

    • HEY AMY♥ I LOVE CRUST TOO. Sorry. It deserved the capitals. Especially if there’s smoked barbeque ranch sauce to dip the crust in. Or if it’s cheese-stuffed crust. Or or or or flavoured pizza dough crust. GAH.

      Don’t worry about that. I used to eat all the toppings off my pizza before eating the bread and lastly the crust.Back when I picked out all the garlic from my stir fried vegetables and said stupid stuff like “blech” and also separated my eggs from my fried rice. Well. Life happens. ;) ♥ I’ve since been brought to the right path though!

      Mmmmm crust.

    • Well, stroke my ego why dontcha! That’s why I keep you around. ;) ;) Just kidding! This was yummy though. What are your fave toppings? I’m always looking for new and intriguing combinations that’ll tickle my palate.

    • Oh boy! I would be so happy if your mom made this recipe! If she does, do take pictures!! I love showing off what fellow wordpress friends make from SEG. It’s like a collection of my foodie heart all over the place!

      Yeah, this pizza is definitely convenient! Maybe using the freshest active dry yeast might help? And this recipe is good because it doesn’t call for hot or even very warm water which sometimes kills the yeast. Just regular lukewarm :D

      Wow, is it bad I’m so excited? Hehehe

  4. I’m swooning! Seriously you are the most versatile cook in the world! I can’t keep up ! Puff pastry from scratch, curry puffs, pizza dough, hummus! Seriously I feel that you are the Nigella of our generation. I’m genuinely intimidated to cook when I look at your site! Actually, more inspired. But still! This looks amazing.

    • I’ve got Sam swooning over my food?! Well it’s time to pack up. My job here is done. Seriously, that makes me bounce off the wall in happiness!

      Nah, I think until I master sourdough bread making and entremets and stuff, I’ve still got a ways to go. Sometimes I watch videos of how grandmas cook ginormous mammoth sized pots of curry or slap around the dough for roti canai on youtube and I’m like, man. This is the stuff that inspires.

      Heading over to check out your chestnut apple blackberry tart soon. What in the name of. LOVE that combo! Psssh, and calling me Nigella…

Give Us Some Sass! ;)

